OSK Research: Civil servants’ salary revision to boost consumption

14

Mei 9, 2007 oleh pemudawilayah


By Kevin Tan , TheEdgeDaily

Consumer spending can grow by another 0.5 percentage point (ppt) in 2007 and one ppt in 2008, if there is a pay rise for civil servants under the new salary scheme that is currently being studied by the Public Services Department (PSD).

Using the marginal propensity to consume (MPC) ratio of 0.45 in 2006 and an import leakage assumption of 10%, the salary revision could generate an additional RM2.7 billion of consumer spending per annum, according to OSK Research in a research note on May 8.

Following this, Malaysia’s economy could grow by between another 0.2 ppt and 0.5 ppt respectively in 2007 and 2008 as a result of the higher consumer spending growth, it said.

“The salary revision will elevate disposable income of civil servants which in turn will boost consumer spending and its contribution to GDP (gross domestic product) growth,” it added.

On Monday, Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi said civil servants deserved a pay rise and the PSD was in the midst of studying the salary revision proposed by the Congress of Unions of Employees in the Public and Civil Services (Cuepacs).

Cuepacs has requested for a comprehensive revision on the civil servants’ salary scheme since early this year citing rising cost of living, improved work performance and that the last meaningful revision was done in 1992.

OSK Research said there were about 900,000 civil servants directly under the government payroll with another 300,000 workers indirectly affiliated with the government at the state and local level as well as various agencies and statutory bodies.

Including 500,000 retirees, about 1.7 million people in Malaysia could potentially benefit from the massive pay hike exercise, it added.

“With the potential implementation of a revised salary scheme, we envisage a broad-based boost for most sectors of the stock market, including consumer products, properties, banking, telco and media,” it said.

However, Cuepacs’ proposal may not be accepted wholesale as the total package of RM5 billion per annum represents 19.4% of the existing federal government’s emolument expenses of RM25.8 billion or 4.4% of the total operating expenditure of RM113 billion for 2007.

“Given the financial constraint with a RM20 billion budget deficit expected in 2007, our view is that the government may not approve the proposal wholesale.

“Instead, we see partial approval to the Cuepacs’ recommendation amounting to RM4 billion, but opine that the approved scheme will benefit those in the lower income bracket,” OSK Research said.

It also said the claim by Cuepacs that there was no pay hike since 1992 “was not entirely true” as civil servants enjoyed about 10% salary adjustments in 1996, 2000 and 2002 respectively.

The government had also started to pay cost of living allowance to civil servants since 2005, it added.

14 thoughts on “OSK Research: Civil servants’ salary revision to boost consumption

  1. Margherita berkata:

    I’m also writing to let you know what a outstanding discovery my cousin’s child encountered checking your
    web site. She mastered plenty of details, which include what it is like to
    possess a very effective teaching spirit to make a number
    of people without hassle learn about several tortuous subject matter.
    You truly surpassed people’s desires. Thanks for showing the productive, dependable, explanatory not to mention unique tips on your topic to Lizeth.

  2. Consuelo berkata:

    I realized more interesting things on this
    weight reduction issue. One particular issue is
    that good nutrition is highly vital any time dieting.
    A huge reduction in junk food, sugary food, fried foods,
    sugary foods, red meat, and bright flour products might be
    necessary. Having wastes harmful bacteria, and toxins may prevent aims for shedding fat.
    While a number of drugs in the short term solve the challenge, the
    horrible side effects usually are not worth it, and so they never supply more than a non permanent
    solution. This can be a known proven fact that 95% of fad diet plans fail. Many thanks for sharing your notions on this site.

  3. Gertrude berkata:

    I was recommended this web site by my cousin.

    I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my trouble. You are incredible! Thanks!

  4. magnificent points altogether, you simply
    gained a new reader. What would you suggest in regards to your post that
    you made some days ago? Any positive?

  5. Kelly berkata:

    My partner and I stumbled over here by a different web page and thought I
    might check things out. I like what I see so i am just following you.

    Look forward to looking over your web page for a second time.

  6. Charissa berkata:

    Your style is very unique compared to other folks I’ve read stuff from. Thanks for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I’ll just book mark this site.

  7. Alexis berkata:

    Howdy! I know this is kinda off topic however I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest authoring a
    blog post or vice-versa? My blog addresses a lot of the same subjects as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you’re interested feel free to send me an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you! Great blog by the way!

  8. Debra berkata:

    Great post. I was checking constantly this weblog and I’m impressed! Very useful info specially the ultimate section 🙂 I take care of such information much. I was seeking this particular info for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

  9. Sherman berkata:

    A large percentage of of what you assert happens
    to be supprisingly legitimate and it makes me wonder
    the reason why I hadn’t looked at this in this light before. This particular article truly did switch the light on for me personally as far as this particular subject matter goes. However at this time there is actually 1 issue I am not really too comfortable with and whilst I try to reconcile that with the core idea of your position, allow me see what all the rest of the subscribers have to point out.Very well done.

  10. Karla berkata:

    Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in reality used to
    be a enjoyment account it. Look complex to more brought agreeable from you!
    By the way, how could we be in contact?

  11. Reggie berkata:

    Hello! Quick question that’s completely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My site looks weird when viewing from my iphone. I’m trying to find a template or plugin that might be able to resolve
    this problem. If you have any recommendations, please share.
    With thanks!

  12. Maxie berkata:

    You really make it seem so easy with your
    presentation but I find this topic to be really something that I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complicated and very broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post,
    I’ll try to get the hang of it!

  13. Carole berkata:

    I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here.
    The sketch is tasteful, your authored material stylish.
    nonetheless, you command get bought an nervousness over that
    you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come further formerly again since exactly the same nearly
    very often inside case you shield this hike.

  14. Andreas berkata:

    Howdy! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came to give it a look.
    I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Terrific blog and terrific design.

Tinggalkan komen

Muktamar PAS

BUKTI UMNO HINA RAJA MELAYU

Kata Presiden

Kata Mursyidul Am

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 135 other subscribers
Mei 2007
I S R K J S A
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Arkib

Categories

RSS Harakahdaily

  • Terdapat ralat. Suapan ini mungkin tidak dapat dihubungi. Sila cuba lagi.

RSS Malaysiakini

  • Terdapat ralat. Suapan ini mungkin tidak dapat dihubungi. Sila cuba lagi.

Media AlTernatiF